Navigation

Anchors

Education & Research

Aargau is a canton that is strong on education and research: even before the canton as such came into existence, the first secular academic high school in Switzerland was founded in Aarau. Today, about one-third of cantonal government spending is invested in developing and furthering Aargau's innovative education and research structures.

Development of the head, heart and hands is the credo of Johann Heinrich Pestalozzi's educational theory. The educational reformer lived for many years in Aargau and is also buried here; true to his spirit, the canton has valued a good education system from the start.

Educational institutions

Today's Alte Kantonsschule Aarau came into being in 1802 as the first Swiss academic high school to have a secular teaching force. It counts Albert Einstein, the Nobel Prize-winning father of the theory of relativity, among its former pupils. Modern-day Aargau has six academic high schools in the canton, as well as the cantonal high school for adults. The Neue Kantonsschule academic high school in Aarau and its counterpart in Wettingen have also broken new educational ground for Switzerland with their bilingual dual-major and International Baccalaureate programmes.

The elementary school system in Aargau begins with two years of compulsory kindergarten followed by six years of primary school, with English taught from the third grade. Three levels of secondary school then round out the compulsory education period, after which students progress to high school or dual vocational training.

The canton of Aargau is both sponsor and primary base for the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW) (will open in new window), which opened its doors in 2006. Since then, it has established itself as a strong university centre, thanks to collaborations both within FHNW as well as with the University of Basel (will open in new window) and the Paul Scherrer Institute (will open in new window) (PSI). Close ties to business are typical of the Aargau university scene. Since 2008, Aarau has been home to the Centre for Democracy Studies (ZDA) (will open in new window), an organisation supported by the town of Aarau, the canton, the University of Zurich and the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW). It contributes substantially to research on (direct) democracy and ensures that research results reach the public.

Research hub

Aargau is also the location of Switzerland's largest research institute: the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) (will open in new window), a multidisciplinary research centre for engineering and natural sciences, which lies between Würenlingen and Villigen on both sides of the river Aare. With a staff or around 1500, it undertakes cutting-edge research in the fields of matter and materials, humans and health, energy and the environment. PSI develops, constructs and operates complex large-scale research installations. 2500 and more scientists from Switzerland and all over the world come to PSI each year to perform experiments that use the unique systems available here and which would not be possible at other facilities.

Aargau supports other national research institutions in addition to PSI: those include the Swiss Nanoscience Institute (will open in new window) at the University of Basel, the Competence Center Energy and Mobility at PSI and the Centre for Democracy Studies (ZDA) (will open in new window) in Aarau. Such commitment by the canton of Aargau leads to a concentration of research potential in northwestern Switzerland, especially in basic research and application-oriented fields.

To promote know-how and technology transfer from the universities to the Aargau economy, the canton supports the Technopark®Aargau (will open in new window) in Windisch and has established the Hightech Zentrum Aargau. Through the Aargau Research Fund, it promotes cooperation between universities and commercial enterprise. Companies based in the PARK INNOVAARE (will open in new window) innovation park benefit from its geographical proximity to PSI. This is one of five sites that together constitute the Swiss Innovation Park.

The canton's innovative strength is evidenced by quite a string of private research institutions, notably the ABB Corporate Research Center (will open in new window) in Dättwil and the Plastics Training and Technology Center (KATZ) (will open in new window), which collaborates closely with the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland.

High-tech Aargau

The high-tech Aargau programme is dedicated to securing industrial and research activity in the canton and boosting value creation.

Established and new companies based in Aargau stand to benefit from optimal conditions and services for driving innovation. Measures aimed at know-how and technology transfer are at the core of the programme. Aargau businesses, especially SMEs, thus get optimal access to the best technologies around and in this way raise their performance and competitiveness.

High-tech research

With substantial co-financing of the SwissFEL (will open in new window) large-scale research facility at the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) in Villigen, the canton is reaffirming its commitment to making Aargau a world-class research hub.

Hightech Zentrum

The Hightech Zentrum Aargau is a hub for innovation, promoting exchange and cooperation among companies, universities and research institutions. The experts at the Hightech Zentrum advise and mentor businesses with innovation projects, SMEs in particular. They connect enterprises with the right partners in academia, industry and technology so that innovation projects can thrive to fruition.

High-tech cooperation

A boost to resources earmarked for the Aargau Research Fund is promoting broader-based cooperation between academia and business in Aargau. Commercial innovation projects are thus able to gain crucial impetus thanks to expertise sourced from university partners.

Brugg-Windisch campus

Aargau's university sites have all been brought together at the Brugg-Windisch campus (will open in new window) since 2013. The campus is also the seat of the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW), which is funded by four cantons. 3200 students and 1000 staff are based at the campus, which specialises in the fields of technology, education and economics. This consolidation and concentration produces better study conditions, as well as synergies with other research institutions and industry.

Nach Oben

Navigation

Ancres

Formation & Recherche

Le canton d’Argovie est un canton de formation et de recherche. Le premier gymnase laïc de Suisse avait déjà ouvert ses portes à Aarau avant la création du canton. Aujourd’hui, le canton d’Argovie consacre environ un tiers des dépenses publiques au développement et à l’optimisation de son paysage de formation et de recherche.

Apprendre avec la tête, avec le cœur et avec les mains", tel était le credo du pédagogue Johann Heinrich Pestalozzi. Pleinement dans l’esprit de celui qui réforma l’éducation, et vécut de nombreuses années en Argovie où il est également enterré, le canton s’est montré extrêmement attaché à la qualité de la formation dès sa création.

L’ancienne école cantonale d’Aarau fut, en 1802, le premier gymnase du pays dont les enseignants n’appartenaient pas au clergé. Albert Einstein, père de la théorie de la relativité et Prix Nobel, a notamment fréquenté cette école. Le canton d’Argovie compte aujourd’hui six écoles cantonales ainsi qu’un collège pour adultes. La nouvelle école cantonale d’Aarau ainsi que l’école cantonale de Wettingen font partie des institutions pionnières en Suisse proposant à la fois une maturité bilingue et la filière du baccalauréat international.

Dans le canton d’Argovie, le cycle élémentaire se compose de deux ans d’école enfantine obligatoire, de six ans d’école primaire et de trois ans d’école secondaire I. Les élèves ont des cours d’anglais dès la 3e année primaire. A l’issue de la scolarité obligatoire, les élèves peuvent entrer au gymnase ou suivre une formation professionnelle duale.

Le canton d’Argovie est le principal canton d’établissement de la Haute école spécialisée du nord-ouest de la Suisse (FHNW) (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre) qui réunit, depuis 2006, les hautes écoles des quatre cantons suivants: Argovie, Bâle-Ville, Bâle-Campagne et Soleure. Il s’est solidement établi dans le paysage des places universitaires suisses grâce à sa collaboration au sein de la FHNW, de l’Université de Bâle (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre) et de l’Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI) (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre). Sa proximité de l’économie en constitue notamment une marque distinctive. Depuis 2008, Aarau est par ailleurs le siège du Zentrum für Demokratie (ZDA) (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre), une émanation de la Ville d’Aarau, du canton d’Argovie, de l’Université de Zurich et de la Haute Ecole Spécialisée du nord-ouest de la Suisse (FHNW). Ce centre apporte une contribution substantielle à la recherche sur la démocratie (directe) et assure le transfert des résultats d’études vers le grand public.

Site de recherche

Le plus grand institut de recherche du pays est également établi dans le canton d’Argovie: l’Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI) (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre), un institut de recherche multidisciplinaire pour les sciences naturelles et les sciences de l’ingénierie, implanté sur les deux rives de l’Aar entre Würenlingen et Villigen. Avec un effectif d’env. 1500 personnes, il effectue des recherches de pointe dans les domaines des matières et matériaux, de l’être humain et de la santé, de l’énergie et de l’environnement. L’Institut développe, construit et exploite de grandes installations de recherche complexes. Chaque année, plus de 2500 scientifiques viennent de Suisse et du monde entier afin d’effectuer sur les grandes installations uniques des expériences qu’ils ne pourraient mener nulle part ailleurs.

En plus de l’Institut Paul Scherrer, le canton d’Argovie soutient d’autres institutions de recherche nationales, dont notamment: le Swiss Nanoscience Institute (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre) de l’Université de Bâle, le Centre de compétence pour une énergie et une mobilité durables du PSI et le Zentrum für Demokratie à Aarau. L’engagement du canton d’Argovie permet de concentrer un potentiel de recherche dans le nord-ouest de la Suisse, en particulier dans les domaines de la recherche fondamentale et de la recherche appliquée.

Afin de favoriser les transferts de connaissances et de technologies des hautes écoles vers l’économie argovienne, le canton soutient également le Technopark® Aargau (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre) à Windisch, et a créé le centre des hautes technologies Hightech Zentrum Aargau. Par le biais du fonds cantonal de la recherche, il soutient la collaboration entre les hautes écoles et des entreprises de l’économie. Celles-ci profitent de la proximité du PSI dans le parc d’innovation InnovAARE. (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre) Il s’agit de l’un des cinq sites du Parc suisse de l’innovation.

Toute une série d’institutions de recherche privées, dont le laboratoire de recherche d’ABB (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre) à Dättwil et le centre KATZ (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre) (Kunststoff, Ausbildungs- und Technologiezentrum) qui coopère étroitement avec la Haute Ecole spécialisée du nord-ouest de la Suisse, démontrent la force d’innovation du canton.

Un canton high-tech

Le programme "Hightech Aargau" vise à consolider la place du canton d’Argovie comme site industriel et de recherche tout en renforçant sa création de valeur.

Des sociétés existantes et nouvelles doivent pouvoir bénéficier ici de conditions-cadre et de prestations optimales dans le domaine de la promotion de l’innovation. Des mesures favorisant les transferts de connaissances et de technologies afin d’assurer aux entreprises du canton, et plus particulièrement aux PME, un accès optimal aux meilleures technologies disponibles pour ainsi accroître leur compétitivité et leurs performances, sont au cœur du programme.

Recherche high-tech

Par le cofinancement substantiel de SwissFEL (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre), la grande installation de recherche de l’Institut Paul Scherrer à Villigen, le canton d’Argovie a confirmé sa détermination de renforcer sa position comme site de recherche d’un niveau mondial.

Centre high-tech

Coopération high-tech

Campus Brugg-Windisch

Depuis 2013, tous les sites des hautes écoles spécialisées du canton d’Argovie sont concentrés sur le Campus (s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre). C’est également le siège de la Haute école spécialisée du nord-ouest de la Suisse (FHNW), une collaboration de quatre cantons. 3200 étudiants et 1000 collaborateurs des domaines d’étude technique, pédagogie et sciences sont réunis ici. Il en résulte de meilleures conditions d’étude et ainsi que des effets de synergie avec l’économie et d’autres institutions de recherche.

Nach Oben