Wildegg Castle and the von Effinger

Wildegg Castle was originally built by the Habsburgs but belonged to the Effinger family for eleven generations. At the beginning of the 20th century the castle and estate passed to the Swiss Confederation and since 2011 the complex has belonged to the canton of Aargau.

Wildegg Castle was originally constructed some time after 1200; it changed owners several times and passed into the hands of the Effinger family towards the end of the 15th century. After the family died out in 1912, the castle and estate were taken over by the Swiss Confederation. Since 2011, Wildegg Castle Estate has belonged to the foundation that bears its name.

Under Habsburg rule

Wildegg Castle was built in the first half of the 13th century by order of the Habsburgs. Perched on a ledge with a striking main tower and residential annex, the castle was first mentioned in 1242. It was the seat of a branch of the Habsburg family that belonged to the lower gentry, the stewards of Habsburg and Wildegg. Before 1348 the castle was granted to the Lords of Hallwyl as a fief by the Habsburgs. Thüring I of Hallwyl had the complex elaborately modernised in 1372.

Navigation

Ancres

Le Château de Wildegg et les von Effinger

Le château de Wildegg, jadis construit par les Habsbourg, a appartenu pendant onze générations à la famille Effinger. Au début du XXe siècle, le château et le domaine revinrent à la Confédération, et depuis 2011, l’ensemble appartient au canton d’Argovie.

Le château de Wildegg fut créé comme château-fort après 1200, puis changea plusieurs fois de propriétaires et passa vers la fin du XVe siècle à la famille Effinger. Après l’extinction de celle-ci en 1912, le château et le domaine revinrent à la Confédération suisse. Depuis 2011, le domaine du château de Wildegg appartient à la fondation du même nom.

Sous les Habsbourg

Le château de Wildegg fut construit par les Habsbourg dans la première moitié du XIIIe siècle. Le château-fort situé sur un promontoire rocheux, avec son puissant donjon et son corps de logis attenant, est mentionné pour la première fois dans un document en 1242. Il était le siège d’une famille de ministériaux des Habsbourg, les Truchessen von Habsburg und Wildegg. Avant 1348, le château fut inféodé par les Habsbourg aux seigneurs de Hallwyl. Thüring Ier de Hallwyl le fit moderniser de fond en comble en 1372.

Nach Oben