Family & construction history

The Hallwyl family belonged to the minor nobility of Aargau and excelled in many ways during its 800-year history - on the battlefields of the Swiss Confederation and at the courts of Europe as well as in science, politics, trade and finance.

Residents

A member of the Hallwyl family was first mentioned in the year 1167: Waltherus de Allewilare was part of the social circle of the Barons of Eschenbach as well as belonging to the entourage of the Counts of Lenzburg.

Of the more than 500 family members, only one has been selected to represent each exhibition theme shown here. The audio guide available free of charge at the museum cash desk provides information on the portraits of the 20 family members on show in the exhibition.

14th century: Johans I of Hallwyl

Johans
© Museum Aargau

Johans I (1305–1348) was a marshal, a guardian in Sundgau, and later a bailiff in Swabia and Alsace. He carried out important assignments for the Habsburg sovereigns and was the official educator of Duke Frederick. He later used his position to expand his power in Aargau. Johans I is regarded as the most powerful and most successful member of the Hallwyl family. It was he who had the Hallwyl tower castle enlarged to create a prestigious castle complex.

15th century: Hans von Hallwyl

Hans
© Museum Aargau

Hans (1434–1504) had fought under the Habsburgs as well as under the Kings of Bohemia and Hungary. On 22 June 1476 he led the Bernese troops to victory at Murten against Charles the Bold, Duke of Burgundy, and went down in history as the Hero of Murten.

15th/16th century: Dietrich of Hallwyl

Dietrich
© Museum Aargau

Dietrich (1462–1509) established a farm and cultivated the land belonging to Hallwyl Castle himself. He had a fish pond created in the Schlatt and maintained a sound income from the sale of carp.

16th century: Hartmann III of Hallwyl

Hartmann
© Museum Aargau

Hartmann III (1503–1573) studied theology under Wolfgang Capito in Basel and later went to the universities of Mainz and Leipzig. He welcomed Luther's revolutionary ideas, gave up his plans to become a priest and took up service as an envoy and emissary for the City of Bern. In 1546/47 he was an emissary of Bern in the Schmalkaldic War.Hartmann III (1503–1573) studied theology under Wolfgang Capito in Basel and later went to the universities of Mainz and Leipzig. He welcomed Luther's revolutionary ideas, gave up his plans to become a priest and took up service as an envoy and emissary for the City of Bern. In 1546/47 he was an emissary of Bern in the Schmalkaldic War.

16th century: Burkhard III of Hallwyl

Burkhard
© Museum Aargau

Burkhard III (1533–1598) collected medical recipes, researched into his family's history and had several extensions and conversions carried out in Hallwyl Castle. He owned an experimental laboratory with distillation apparatus and supplies of medicines similar to that of an apothecary. In around 1580 he compiled more than 2,500 recipes in the 'Hallweil Book of Medicines' including the 'Genuine Hallwyl Magic Potion'.

16th/17th century: Johann Georg of Hallwyl

Johann Georg
© Museum Aargau

At the instigation of his father Dietrich, Johann Georg (1544–1604) obtained a sinecure at the cathedral chapter in Basel in 1579. His training and his later period of office as bishop were influenced by the Jesuits: he was said to be strictly devout, eager for reform and unselfish. In 1601 he was unanimously voted bishop of the largest bishopric in the German-speaking region by the cathedral chapter of Constance.

18th century: Bernhardine of Hallwyl

Bernhardine
© Museum Aargau

Bernhardine, née Diesbach (1728–1779), came from a wealthy Bern family and married the 55-year-old Johannes of Hallwyl when she was aged 16. After the latter's death, she suffered considerably due to the loss of her daughter, fear for her sick sons and her own infirmity.

18th/19th century: Franziska Romana of Hallwyl

Franziska Romana
© Museum Aargau

Franziska Romana, née Hallwyl (1758–1836), married her cousin Abraham Johannes and was Lady of the Castle as a widow for more than 50 years. Born into a period of upheaval, she witnessed the downfall of the Ancien Régime, the French Revolution and the foundation of the canton of Aargau. She followed all these developments with great interest.

18th/19th century: Karl Franz Rudolf of Hallwyl

Karl Franz Rudolf
© Museum Aargau

Karl Franz Rudolf (1777–1852) served under the Russian Tsar and became a captain in the artillery battalion of the Imperial Guard. After his return to Hallwyl Castle he was Lord of the Castle for 40 years, becoming a citizen and colonel of Aargau as well as being voted onto the Grand Council. The family lost many of its privileges in the aftermath of the Helvetic Revolution. Karl Franz Rudolf fought countless legal battles to defend his family's rights, causing him to amass considerable debt. In 1833 he was finally forced to sell the castle mill.

18th/19th century: Wilhelmina of Hallwyl

Wilhelmina
© Museum Aargau

The wife of Walter of Hallwyl (1839–1921) was the daughter of a Swedish industrialist. During the course of her life she assembled an extensive collection of paintings, porcelain, silver, weapons and utility objects. These can be viewed by the public today at Hallwyl Museum in Stockholm.

Wilhelmina of Hallwyl (1844–1930) invested most of her large inheritance in the restoration and documentation of Hallwyl Castle from 1910 to 1916. After her husband's death she established the Hallwil Foundation in 1925. This trustee organisation took on responsibility for the castle complex and opened it to the public.

Architectural history: the development stages to becoming a moated castle

Hallwyl Castle was constantly expanded from the time of its founding in the late 12th century. It underwent thorough restoration from 1997 to 2004.

The tower castle

In the late 12th century the lords of Hallwyl am Aabach established a small castle complex 700 metres from the run-off at the northern end of Lake Hallwil. It consisted of a residential tower surrounded on three sides by a dry moat. Large boulders were placed at the outside of the tower walls, as is commonly found in castle towers in the region dating back to the same era or slightly later.

There was also an inn serving the castle residents which was presumably older than the castle itself.

The keep

As the Hallwyl family gradually grew in importance and reputation, the space afforded by the tower castle became too limited. This was remedied in around 1265 with the construction of the keep, which was erected directly on the bank of the stream east of the residential tower. Two rooms on the ground floor were used to store supplies. The first and second floors consisted of residential rooms.

A bridge was built over the Aabach, possibly around the time the keep was constructed if not some time previously.

Histoire de la famille et du château de Hallwyl

La famille des Hallwyl, de la petite noblesse argovienne, s’est distinguée à maintes reprises au fil de son histoire plus de huit fois séculaire: sur les champs de bataille de la Confédération, dans les cours européennes, dans les sciences, la politique, le commerce et la finance.

Les habitants

On trouve la première mention d’un membre de la famille de Hallwyl dans un document en 1167: Waltherus de Allewilare évoluait dans l’entourage des barons d’Eschenbach et la suite des comtes de Lenzbourg.

Parmi les plus de 500 membres de la famille, nous ne présenterons ici que le portrait d’un représentant par thème de l’exposition. L’audioguide "Acoustiguide" disponible gratuitement à la caisse du musée du château propose des portraits de 20 membres de la famille que l’on rencontre également dans l’exposition.

14e siècle: Jean Ier de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

Jean Ier (1305–1348) fut maréchal, administrateur dans le Sundgau, puis bailli en Souabe et en Alsace. Il assuma des tâches importantes pour les souverains habsbourgeois et fit fonction de précepteur du duc Frédéric. Il profita de sa position pour consolider son propre pouvoir en Argovie. Jean Ier est considéré comme le plus puissant et le plus couronné de succès de la lignée des Hallwyl. Ce fut lui qui fit transformer la tour fortifiée de Hallwyl en un château représentatif.

15e siècle: Jean de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

Jean (1434–1504) avait combattu au service des Habsbourg ainsi que des rois de Hongrie et de Bohême. Le 22 juin 1476, il conduisit les troupes bernoises près de Morat à la victoire contre les Bourguignons sous Charles le Téméraire, et entra dans l’histoire comme héros de Morat.

15e/16e siècle: Dietrich de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

Dietrich (1462–1509) fonda une ferme et exploita lui-même les terres agricoles appartenant au château de Hallwyl. Il fit aménager l’étang de pêche dans le marécage, et la vente des carpes lui assura de bons revenus.

16e siècle: Hartmann III de Hallwyl

Hartmann II
© Museum Aargau

Hartmann III (1503–1573) étudia la théologie auprès de Wolfgang Capito à Bâle, et rejoignit par la suite les universités de Mayence et de Leipzig. Il accueillit favorablement les idées révolutionnaires de Luther, abandonna son projet de devenir prêtre et entra comme envoyé et émissaire au service de la ville de Berne. En 1546/47, il fut détaché comme envoyé de Berne pendant la guerre de Schmalkalden.

16e siècle: Burkhard III de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

Burkhard III (1533–1598) fit collection de formules médicinales, se pencha sur l’histoire de la famille et fit exécuter un certain nombre de travaux d’agrandissement et de transformations au château. Il possédait un laboratoire d’essai avec des alambics et une réserve de médicaments qui valait celle d’une pharmacie. Vers 1580, il réunit dans le "Livre des médicaments de Hallwyl" plus de 2500 formules, dont celle de la "Véritable potion pour blessures de Hallwyl".

16e/17e siècle: Jean-Georges de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

Sur instance de son père Dietrich, Jean-Georges (1544–1604) obtint en 1579 une prébende à l’abbaye de la cathédrale de Bâle. Sa formation ainsi que par la suite l’exercice de ses fonctions d’évêque étaient marqués par l’influence des Jésuites: on lui atteste une foi très stricte, le goût des réformes et un caractère altruiste. En 1601, le chapitre de la cathédrale de Constance l’élut à l’unanimité évêque du plus grand évêché de l’espace germanophone.

18e siècle: Bernhardine de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

Bernhardine, née Diesbach (1728–1779), était issue d’une noble famille bernoise et épousa à 16 ans Jean den Hallwyl alors âgé de 55 ans. Après la mort de ce dernier, sa vie fut marquée par le deuil d’une fille, le souci pour ses fils malades et sa propre santé fragile.

18e/19e siècle: Franziska Romana de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

Franziska Romana, née Hallwyl (1758–1836), épousa son cousin Abraham-Jean. Devenue veuve, elle fut pendant plus de 50 ans la maîtresse souveraine du château. Née à une époque de profonds bouleversements, elle vécut la chute de l’Ancien Régime, la Révolution française et la naissance du canton d’Argovie. Elle suivait avec intérêt tous ces changements.

18e/19e siècle: Charles-François-Rodolphe de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

Charles-François-Rodolphe (1777–1852) servit sous le Tsar de Russie et devint capitaine du bataillon d’artillerie de sa garde personnelle. De retour au château de Hallwyl, il en fut le seigneur pendant plus de 40 ans. Il devint citoyen et colonel d’Argovie et se fit élire au Grand Conseil. Suite à la Révolution helvétique, la famille avait perdu beaucoup de ses privilèges. Charles-François-Rodolphe mena d’innombrables procès pour les droits des Hallwyl, et s’endetta ainsi. En 1833, il se vit contraint de vendre le moulin du château.

18e/19e siècle: Wilhelmina de Hallwyl

© Museum Aargau

L’épouse de Walter de Hallwyl (1839–1921) était la fille d’un industriel suédois. Au cours de sa vie, elle rassembla une vaste collection de tableaux, de porcelaines, d’argenterie, d’armes et d’ustensiles. Celle-ci est aujourd’hui accessible au public au Musée Hallwyl à Stockholm.

Wilhelmina de Hallwyl (1844–1930) consacra une grande partie de son important héritage à la restauration et à la documentation du château de Hallwyl entre 1910 et 1916. Après la mort de son époux, elle constitua en 1925 la Fondation Hallwil, qui assura la conservation du château et le rendit accessible au public.

Histoire de la construction: transformation par étapes en château à douves

Depuis sa création vers la fin du XIIe siècle, le château de Hallwyl a été régulièrement agrandi au fil du temps. Entre 1997 et 2004, il a été rénové de fond en comble.

La tour fortifiée

Vers la fin du XIIe siècle, les seigneurs de Hallwyl fondèrent sur l’Aabach, 700 mètres après sa sortie au nord du lac de Hallwil, un modeste château-fort. Il était constitué d’un donjon entouré d’un fossé de trois côtés. À l’extérieur, les murs de la tour étaient habillés de blocs erratiques tels qu’en présentent souvent dans la région des tours fortifiées de la même période ou un peu plus récentes.

Une ferme permettait aux habitants du château de subvenir à leurs besoins. Elle était sans doute plus ancienne que le château.

La résidence seigneuriale

Le donjon ne suffisait plus aux seigneurs de Hallwyl, dont la famille ne cessait de croître en nombre et en prestige. Un "palas" (corps de logis) construit vers 1265 directement au bord de la rivière, à l’est de la tour, allait remédier au problème. Deux salles au rez-de-chaussée servaient à stocker les réserves. Les appartements étaient situés au premier et au deuxième étage.

Un pont fut construit au-dessus de l’Aabach, au plus tard lors de la construction du bâtiment résidentiel, mais probablement bien plus tôt déjà.