Navigation

Anchors

Water system – Aquaeductus

The aqueduct of Vindonissa is the oldest functioning structure in Switzerland and supplied Windisch with drinking water up to 1897. To this day, the Roman water systems are regarded as one of the best-known technical achievements of the ancient world.

The aqueduct of Vindonissa now supplies a water fountain, making it the oldest structure in Switzerland that still performs its original function.

Using innovative surveying technology, the legionaries were able to construct the aqueduct over a stretch of 2.4 kilometres with a gradient of just 4‰. The fresh water system supplied water for drinking, cooking and other domestic purposes for some 6,000 legionaries, auxiliary troops, horses and mules. It would not have been possible to live in the legionary camp without this fresh water supply.

The aqueduct is a technological masterpiece: groundwater was captured in an elaborately constructed, subterranean stone channel in Hausen and transported to Windisch. The legionaries used a special watertight mortar to ensure the water was not lost on the way. Once it had arrived in the camp, the fresh water was further distributed in pipes made of clay, lead and wood. Roman engineers applied highly precise surveying methods and ingenious construction techniques to create such facilities. Unknown in this area in pre-Roman times, the aqueduct is regarded as the Roman's most important civilisatory feat - along with their baths and infirmaries.

The water system continued to be used by Königsfelden Monastery in the Middle Ages. The story goes that during construction of the monastery, a monk was "shown by God where water could be found". A document dating back to 1363 provides evidence that the aqueduct was endowed to the monastery by Duke Rudolf IV of Austria. Up until 1897 it was the only supply of drinking water serving the population of Windisch, and even today it feeds the fountain in front of the main building of Königsfelden psychiatric clinic.

Nach Oben

Navigation

Ancres

Aqueduc – Aquaeductus

L’ouvrage le plus ancien encore en fonctionnement de la Suisse, l’aqueduc de Vindonissa, alimenta Windisch en eau potable jusqu’en 1897. Les aqueducs romains comptent jusqu’à nos jours parmi les plus célèbres acquis techniques de l’Antiquité.

L’aqueduc de Vindonissa est le plus ancien ouvrage de la Suisse qui assure aujourd’hui encore sa fonction initiale et alimente une fontaine avec son eau. Grâce à une technique de relevé innovatrice, les légionnaires réussirent à construire l’aqueduc sur une longueur de 2,4 kilomètres avec une pente de 4 ‰ seulement. La conduite d’eau fraîche fournissait l’eau potable et utilitaire pour près de 6000 légionnaires, les troupes auxiliaires, les chevaux et les mulets. Sans cet apport d’eau fraîche, la vie au camp légionnaire aurait été impossible.

L’aqueduc est un chef-d’œuvre technique: l’eau captée dans la nappe phréatique à Hausen était transportée jusqu’à Windisch dans un canal souterrain maçonné avec soin. Pour éviter les pertes d’eau en cours de route, les légionnaires utilisèrent un mortier étanche spécial. Arrivée au camp, l’eau était distribuée par des conduites en terre cuite, en plomb et en bois. Seul un relevé extrêmement précis et une technique de construction très élaborée permettaient aux ingénieurs romains de réaliser de tels ouvrages. Inconnu dans notre région à l’époque préromaine, l’aqueduc est considéré comme le plus grand acquis de civilisation des Romains – avec les bains et les hôpitaux.

Au Moyen Âge, le couvent de Königsfelden utilisa l’aqueduc. La légende parle d’un moine auquel "Dieu montra l’endroit où l’on devrait trouver de l’eau" lors de la construction du couvent. Un document de 1363 documente le don de l’aqueduc au couvent par le duc Rodolphe IV d’Autriche. Jusqu’en 1897, c’était la seule arrivée d’eau potable pour les habitants de Windisch, et aujourd’hui encore, il alimente la fontaine devant le bâtiment principal de la Clinique psychiatrique de Königsfelden.

Nach Oben