Navigation

Anchors

The main road and gate – Via et Porta Praetoria

The South Gate or Porta Praetoria was the most prestigious in every legionary camp. From here the main road led directly to legion command.

The most important gateway in a military camp was the Porta Praetoria. The main road starting at the gate (via praetoria) lead in a straight line to the legion's headquarters (principia), the administrative and religious centre of the camp. The legion commander's palace (praetorium) was situated on the same road. When the soldiers were required to go to war, they left the camp in orderly formation through the Porta Praetoria.

At Vindonissa, the Porta Praetoria was some 13 to 15 metres high and was built in stone by the 11th legion. It had two side towers that were rectangular in layout, like the North Gate, and it comprised a wooden superstructure. The passage through the gateway was spanned by a bridge at the height of the battlements so as to be able to deploy guards. The camp wall (vallum) encompassing the entire legionary camp was joined directly onto the side of the gateway. The camp wall was 12 Roman feet (approx. 3.6 metres) wide and reinforced at regular intervals with fortified towers. In front of it was a V-shaped ditch (fossa) as an obstacle to approaching enemies.

The Via Praetoria led straight from the South Gate to the North Gate of the camp and comprised a thick, compact gravel layer which remains excellently preserved after 2,000 years. Rain water was collected from the roofs and drained by means of stone gulleys by the roadside. Legionary Trail visitors can still see the stone column bases of the pergolas which once ran along the Roman road.

Nach Oben

Navigation

Ancres

Voie principale et porte sud – Via et Porta Praetoria

La porte sud ou Porta Praetoria était dans tout camp légionnaire la porte la plus représentative, depuis laquelle la voie principale conduisait directement au commandement de la légion.

La porte principale d’un camp militaire était la Porta Praetoria. La voie principale commençant à cette porte (via praetoria) conduisait directement au bâtiment d’état-major de la légion (principia), le centre administratif et religieux du camp. Sur la même voie se situait également le palais (praetorium) du commandant de la légion. Lorsque les soldats partaient en guerre, ils quittaient le camp en formation par la Porta Praetoria.

La Porta Praetoria à Vindonissa, construite en pierre par la 11e légion, faisait environ 13 à 15 mètres de haut. Les deux tours latérales de la porte étaient, comme pour la porte nord, de forme rectangulaire et dotées d’une superstructure en bois. Le passage de la porte était surmonté d’une passerelle à hauteur du chemin de ronde afin de pouvoir y placer des gardes. Le mur (vallum) entourant la totalité du camp était adjacent à la porte. Le mur du camp faisait exactement 12 pieds romains (soit environ 3,6 mètres) de large, et était renforcé à intervalles réguliers par des tours de défense. Devant lui, un fossé (fossa) en V faisait obstacle à l’approche.

La Via Praetoria menait directement de la porte sud à la porte nord du camp, et se composait d’une couche de gravier épaisse et compacte qui est restée très bien conservée pendant 2000 ans. Les caniveaux maçonnés le long de la voie collectaient et évacuaient l’eau de pluie qui s’écoulait des toits. Aujourd’hui encore, les visiteurs du Sentier des légionnaires peuvent voir les bases en pierre de taille des colonnes des portiques qui longeaient la voie romaine.

Nach Oben