Navigation

Anchors

Culture & History

The canton of Aargau has a rich historical heritage and broad-based cultural life with firm roots in the region.

Provincial towns around the regions form cultural magnets that give rise to a vibrant scene. The canton offers cultural institutions having unique and individual profiles, festivals and seasons of events with close audience relationships. Further hallmark features include the lively teaching of history at the actual scenes of events and the rich cultural creativity in evidence today. Many cultural activities rest on a well-functioning system of volunteers, which is where clubs play an important role. Of those, many are particularly involved in maintaining traditions.

A cantonal law on culture governs the promotion, nurture and communication of cultural heritage and contemporary cultural creativity. The canton's 2017-2022 cultural concept gives in-depth insight into Aargau's cultural landscape and enumerates the government's cultural policy objectives.

Sol Gabetta, cellist founder of the Solsberg-Festival, talks about the cultur and hirstory of Aargau.

Um dieses Video anzusehen, benötigen Sie die neueste Version des Flash-Player und aktiviertes JavaScript in Ihrem Browser.

Cultural heritage

The canton's cultural heritage goes way back to olden times, and there is plenty yet to be researched. Early testimony of the territory's settlement comes from the pile dwellings in Beinwil and Seengen, which are UNESCO world cultural heritage sites. Aargau also has rich and internationally significant cultural treasures dating from Roman times, including the former Roman town of Augusta Raurica in Kaiseraugst and the Roman camp of Vindonissa in Windisch. The latter is the subject of the pioneering Legionnaire's Trail educational project, which targets a broad public. Well-preserved historic town districts, forts and castles also bear fascinating witness to times past. Some represent cultural heritage of European significance, for example the stained glass windows of the Königsfelden Convent Church depicting St. Francis' celebrated Sermon to the Birds, and the former Benedictine abbey in Muri. The Aargau public record office and the cantonal library preserve and impart valuable documents and testimonies dating from the high-medieval period to the present day.

Museums & exhibition venues

In the fine arts field, the Aargauer Kunsthaus has acquired international renown with its unique collection of Swiss art. It includes works by Wolf, Hodler, Böcklin and Segantini, as well as contemporary artists such as Silvia Bächli and Roman Signer. There are also numerous smaller exhibition venues such as the Trudelhaus in Baden and the Kunstraum Aarau that offer artists opportunity to present their work as well as space for experimentation. The Stapferhaus Lenzburg has garnered much note beyond cantonal and national borders for its exhibitions on contemporary issues.

The Aargau Museum is one of Switzerland's most-visited historical museums. It is spread across seven historical sites: Lenzburg, Hallwil, Habsburg and Wildegg Castles, Königsfelden Monastery, together with the Legionnaire's Trail and the Vindonissa Museum. Each one narrates history at the actual scenes where events took place.

Other museums funded by municipalities, foundations and associations are dedicated to specific themes: for example the Langmatt Museum in Baden with its distinguished impressionist collection, the Children's Museum in Baden, the Straw Museum in Wohlen and the Fortress and Military Museums in Full-Reuenthal. Last but not least, there are numerous urban and local history museums in multifaceted Aargau.

Theatre & dance

Aargau has a long theatrical tradition with strong popular roots. Numerous theatre troupes, children's and youth drama groups perform folk, classical and outdoor theatre. Elaborate and often experimental work emerges from small venues in all regions of the canton. The Flamencos en Route dance troupe garners major applause at its performances, not only in Switzerland but also abroad. "tanz&kunst königsfelden" is a dance platform unique in Switzerland where dancers, musicians and artists create a total artwork that bears relationship to the late Gothic architectural monument. Festivals such as the figura international "biennale" of image theatre, object theatre and puppetry and the Youth Theatre Festival Switzerland enrich stage life the whole year round. Baden's Kurtheater and Theater im Kornhaus, the Tuchlaube Theater in Aarau, the Kellertheater in Bremgarten, the TaB Theater am Bahnhof in Reinach, the Odeon in Brugg, the Sternensaal in Wohlen and the Kleine Bühne in Zofingen also serve up colourful programmes to discerning theatregoers.

Film

Aargau devotees of motion pictures find a vibrant selection of movie theatres, from commercial multiplexes to art houses presenting feature and documentary films outside the mainstream and taking audiences on cinematic journeys to the farthest corners of the world. Come September every year, Baden plays host to the Fantoche Festival, an international nexus of the animation scene. Inaugurated in 1995, this is now a major event and counts among Switzerland's major film festivals. Dedication to presenting the latest animated films attracts a large audience.

Music

As with theatre, the music scene comprises renowned professional ensembles and any number of musical societies, amateur choirs and music-making groups. Collectively, they cover a whole spectrum of musical genres from traditional folk music, through brass band, jazz, blues, rock and pop, to classical, where the Argovia Philharmonic Orchestra is the flagship exponent of the genre. The CHAARTS chamber orchestra, the Capriccio baroque orchestra and the Klanc concert chorus count among the other ensembles and orchestras enrapturing concertgoers with their innovative programmes. Chamber music of international stature can be heard at the Künstlerhaus Boswil and the Solsberg Festival, which is under the directorship of cellist Sol Gabetta. The Lenzburgiade at Lenzburg Castle presents outstanding classical music along with international folk. Aargau furthermore has a rich operetta tradition: there are several stages where people by the thousands flock to productions. Rock and pop aficionados can hear international concerts at several venues, foremost among them is the KiFF in Aarau, the most-attended concert venue in the canton. There is jazz too, for example at the popular Musig im Pflegidach concert seasons in Muri. For summer musical enjoyment, there are open-air concerts and opera at Hallwil Castle. The canton of Aargau is home to one of the highest concentrations of festivals in Switzerland, among them the Heitere in Zofingen, One of a Million in Baden, the Openair Gränichen, Zamba Loca in Wohlen and the bandXaargau talent festival.

Literature

The literature of Aargau is frequently set here and takes the region as its source of inspiration, for example in the narrative works of Klaus Merz, Hermann Burger, Christian Haller, Michel Mettler, Andreas Neeser, Claudia Storz and Silvio Blatter. Works by writers from Aargau feature regularly on the programme of the Aargauer Literaturhaus in Lenzburg. The Seetaler Poesiesommer, a Swiss festival of literary culture with a cross-language and cross-border orientation, has its home in Aargau. Literary works from the guest country at the Frankfurt Book Fair are on the programme at the Zofingen Literature Days in October, while the biennial Brugg Literature Days presents German-language authors. The canton's 90 or so municipal public libraries enrich local cultural life through their staging of various events.

There is truly plenty of inspiration to be found in the canton of Aargau. And that benefits me, too.

Sol GabettaCellist
Nach Oben

Kultur & Geschichte

Der Aargau ist reich an Kultur und Geschichte. Auf Schloss Lenzburg wird Geschichte am Originalschauplatz erlebbar (© Museum Aargau).
Auf dem Legionärspfad: Der Aargau verfügt über ein reiches Erbe an kulturellen Schätzen aus der Römerzeit (© Museum Aargau).
Im Bereich der bildenden Künste hat sich das Aargauer Kunsthaus internationales Renomée erworben (© Aargauer Kunsthaus).
Das vielbesuchte Museum Aargau umfasst sechs historische Erlebnisorte, darunter auch das Schloss Hallwil (© Museum Aargau).
Kantonales Flaggschiff des klassischen Musikschaffens ist das argovia philharmonic Orchester (© argovia philharmonic).
Der Aargau verfügt über eine vitale Theaterszene. Flamencos en route erfreut sich gar internationaler Bekanntheit (© flamencos en route).

Der Kanton Aargau verfügt über ein reiches historisches Erbe und ein vielfältiges, aktives und stark in den Regionen verankertes Kulturleben.

Im Aargau bilden die Kleinstädte in den Regionen kulturelle Ankerpunkte mit einer lebendigen Kulturszene. Der Kulturkanton bietet vielerorts einzigartig profilierte Kulturinstitutionen, Festivals und Veranstaltungsreihen mit grosser Nähe zum Publikum. Zu den Markenzeichen zählen weiter die lebendige Vermittlung der Geschichte an historischen Schauplätzen und das reiche aktuelle Kulturschaffen. Viele kulturelle Angebote basieren auf einem gut funktionierenden Freiwilligensystem, in dem Vereine eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Zahlreiche Vereine engagieren sich insbesondere für die Pflege der lebendigen Traditionen.

Das Kulturgesetz regelt die kantonale Förderung, Pflege und Vermittlung des Kulturerbes und des zeitgenössischen Kulturschaffens. Das Kulturkonzept 2017–2022 gibt einen vertieften Einblick in die Aargauische Kulturlandschaft und benennt die kulturpolitischen Ziele des Regierungsrats.

Sol Gabetta, Cellistin und Gründerin Solsberg-Festival, spricht über den Kanton Aargau als Kultur- und Geschichtsraum.

Um dieses Video anzusehen, benötigen Sie die neueste Version des Flash-Player und aktiviertes JavaScript in Ihrem Browser.

Kulturelles Erbe

Ein Haufen Münzen auf schwarzem Hintergrund Bild vergrössern
Ein kleiner Teil des Münzschatzes von Ueken in unrestauriertem Zustand (© Kantonsarchäologie Aargau, Foto: Béla Polyvàs)

Das kulturelle Erbe reicht bis in die Frühzeit zurück und ist noch lange nicht abschliessend erforscht. Frühe Zeugen der Besiedlung des Kantonsgebiets sind die Pfahlbauten von Beinwil und Seengen. Sie gehören zu den Weltkulturstätten der UNESCO. Der Aargau verfügt auch über ein reiches und international bedeutendes Erbe an kulturellen Schätzen aus der Römerzeit. Dazu zählt die einstige Römerstadt Augusta Raurica in Kaiseraugst und das Römerlager Vindonissa in Windisch, das mit seinem pionierhaften Vermittlungsprojekt Legionärspfad ein breites Publikum anspricht. Spannende Zeugen vergangener Zeiten sind auch die gut erhaltenen Altstädte, Burgen, Schlösser und Klöster. Die Glasfenster der Klosterkirche Königsfelden mit der berühmten Vogelpredigt des heiligen Franziskus oder die ehemalige Benediktinerabtei Muri zählen zu den Aargauer Kulturdenkmälern von europäischem Rang. Das Staatsarchiv Aargau und die Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek bewahren und vermitteln wertvolle Urkunden und Zeugnisse vom Hochmittelalter bis in die Gegenwart.

Museen & Ausstellungshäuser

Hell erleuchteter Kirchenraum Bild vergrössern
Kloster Königsfelden (© Museum Aargau)

Im Bereich der Bildenden Künste hat sich das Aargauer Kunsthaus mit seiner einzigartigen Sammlung von Schweizer Kunst – von Wolf, Hodler, Böcklin, Segantini bis in die Gegenwart zu Silvia Bächli oder Roman Signer – internationales Renommee erworben. Daneben gibt es zahlreiche kleinere Ausstellungshäuser, die Künstlerinnen und Künstlern Präsentationsmöglichkeiten für ihr Schaffen und Raum für Experimente bieten, unter anderen das Trudelhaus in Baden und der Kunstraum in Aarau. Mit international erfolgreichen Ausstellungen zu Gegenwartsfragen erreicht das Stapferhaus Lenzburg über die Kantons- und Landesgrenzen hinaus grosse Aufmerksamkeit.

Das Museum Aargau gehört zu den meistbesuchten historischen Museen der Schweiz. Es umfasst sieben historische Erlebnisorte: Auf den Schlössern Lenzburg, Hallwyl, Habsburg, Wildegg, im Kloster Königsfelden sowie im Legionärspfad und Vindonissa Museum wird Geschichte am historischen Schauplatz vermittelt.

Weitere Museen, die unter anderem von Gemeinden, Stiftungen und Vereinen getragen werden, widmen sich spezifischen Themen wie zum Beispiel das Museum Langmatt in Baden mit seiner bedeutenden Impressionistensammlung, das Kindermuseum in Baden, das Strohmuseum Wohlen oder das Schweizerische Festungs- und Militärmuseum Full-Reuenthal. Ein facettenreiches Bild des Aargaus vermitteln schliesslich die zahlreichen städtischen und lokalen Geschichts- und Heimatmuseen.

Theater & Tanz

Der Aargau verfügt über eine vitale Theaterszene. Flamencos en route erfreut sich gar internationaler Bekanntheit. Bild vergrössern
Flamencos en route geniesst internationalen Bekanntheitsgrad (© flamencos en route)

Der Aargau verfügt über eine lange Theatertradition, die in der Bevölkerung stark verankert ist. Eine Vielzahl an Theatergruppen, Kinder- und Jugendtheatern bringen Volkstheaterstücke, Freilichtspiele oder klassische Theaterstücke zur Aufführung. An den Kleintheatern in allen Regionen des Kantons hat sich eine Theaterszene mit einem reichhaltigen, oft auch experimentellen Schaffen herausgebildet. Die Tanzgruppe Flamencos en Route erhält für ihre Aufführungen nicht nur in der Schweiz, sondern auch im Ausland grossen Applaus. "tanz&kunst königsfelden" ist eine schweizweit einzigartige Tanzplattform, bei der Tanz, Musik- und Kunstschaffende ein Gesamtkunstwerk mit Bezug auf das spätgotische Baudenkmal kreieren. Festivals wie die internationale Biennale des Bilder-, Figuren- und Objekttheaters figura oder das Jugend Theater Festival Schweiz bereichern das ganzjährige Angebot der Bühnen im Aargau. Ferner bieten das Kurtheater Baden und das Theater im Kornhaus ThiK in Baden, das Theater Tuchlaube in Aarau, das Kellertheater in Bremgarten, das Theater am Bahnhof in Reinach TaB, das Odeon in Brugg, der Sternensaal in Wohlen oder die kleine Bühne in Zofingen dem anspruchsvollen Theaterpublikum ein facettenreiches Programm.

Film

Stop-Motion Tierfigur auf einem Baum Bild vergrössern
© Fantoche

In einer lebendigen Kinolandschaft finden Cineasten im Aargau neben den kommerziellen Kinos eine Reihe von Programmkinos, die Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme jenseits von Blockbustern vorführen und das Publikum in entlegenste Winkel der Welt entführen. Jeweils Anfangs September wird Baden durch das Fantoche-Festival zum internationalen Treffpunkt des Animationsfilms. Der 1995 gegründete Grossanlass gehört zu den wichtigsten Filmfestivals der Schweiz und zieht mit seiner engagierten Präsentation neuester Filme ein grosses Publikum an.

Musik

Nahaufnahme des speilenden Orchesters Bild vergrössern
argovia philharmonic Orchester (© argovia philharmonic)

Wie beim Theater finden sich in der Musikszene neben renommierten professionellen Formationen eine Vielzahl von Musikgesellschaften, Laienchören und Amateurensembles, die unterschiedliche Musiksparten von der traditionellen Volksmusik über die Blasmusik, Jazz, Blues, Rock und Pop bis hin zur klassischen Musik pflegen. Kantonales Flaggschiff des klassischen Musikschaffens ist das Aargauer Symphonie Orchester argovia philharmonic. Ensembles und Orchester wie CHAARTS, Capriccio Barockorchester oder der Konzertchor Klanc begeistern mit ihren innovativen Programmen. An den Konzerten des Künstlerhauses Boswil und am Solsberg-Festival, das unter der Leitung der Cellistin Sol Gabetta steht, erklingt Kammermusik von internationalem Format. Die Lenzburgiade präsentiert auf Schloss Lenzburg hochstehende Klassik neben internationalem Folk. Daneben hat der Aargau auch eine reiche Operettentradition: Gleich mehrere Bühnen erfreuen mit ihren Produktionen viele tausend Besucherinnen und Besucher. Freunde von Rock und Pop finden an mehreren Orten internationale Konzertangebote, allen voran im KiFF in Aarau, dem publikumsstärksten Konzertort im Aargau. Der Jazz ist unter anderem mit der attraktiven Reihe Musig im Pflegidach in Muri präsent. Die Oper Schloss Hallwyl und Konzertaufführungen sorgen im Sommer für Musikgenuss im Freien. Der Kanton Aargau weist eine der grössten Festivaldichten in der Schweiz auf. Dazu zählen zum Beispiel das Heitere in Zofingen, One of a Million in Baden, das Open Air Gränichen, Zamba Loca in Wohlen oder das Nachwuchsfestival bandXaargau.

Literatur

Grosser Lesesaal mit vielen Büchern, Tischen und Computer Bild vergrössern
Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek (© Kanton Aargau)

Die Aargauer Literatur nutzt oft den Lebensraum Aargau als Schauplatz und Kulisse sowie als Quelle der Inspiration, so unter anderem im erzählerischen Schaffen von Klaus Merz, Hermann Burger, Christian Haller, Michel Mettler, Andreas Neeser, Claudia Storz oder Silvio Blatter. Die Werke von Aargauer Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftstellern sind regelmässig im Programm des Aargauer Literaturhauses in Lenzburg präsent. Mit dem Seetaler Poesiesommer ist ein Schweizer Kulturfestival mit sprach- und grenzüberschreitender Ausrichtung im Aargau beheimatet. Das literarische Schaffen des Gastlands der Frankfurter Buchmesse steht bei den Zofinger Literaturtagen jeweils im Oktober auf dem Programm, die Brugger Literaturtage präsentieren im zweijährigen Rhythmus deutschsprachige Autorinnen und Autoren. Rund 90 öffentliche Bibliotheken bereichern das Kulturleben in den Gemeinden mit vielfältigen Veranstaltungen.

Mehr zum Thema

Im Aargau gibt es ein reichhaltiges und vielfältiges Kulturleben. Das kommt mir zugute.

Sol GabettaCellistin