Family & construction history

The Hallwyl family belonged to the minor nobility of Aargau and excelled in many ways during its 800-year history - on the battlefields of the Swiss Confederation and at the courts of Europe as well as in science, politics, trade and finance.

Residents

A member of the Hallwyl family was first mentioned in the year 1167: Waltherus de Allewilare was part of the social circle of the Barons of Eschenbach as well as belonging to the entourage of the Counts of Lenzburg.

Of the more than 500 family members, only one has been selected to represent each exhibition theme shown here. The audio guide available free of charge at the museum cash desk provides information on the portraits of the 20 family members on show in the exhibition.

14th century: Johans I of Hallwyl

Johans
© Museum Aargau

Johans I (1305–1348) was a marshal, a guardian in Sundgau, and later a bailiff in Swabia and Alsace. He carried out important assignments for the Habsburg sovereigns and was the official educator of Duke Frederick. He later used his position to expand his power in Aargau. Johans I is regarded as the most powerful and most successful member of the Hallwyl family. It was he who had the Hallwyl tower castle enlarged to create a prestigious castle complex.

15th century: Hans von Hallwyl

Hans
© Museum Aargau

Hans (1434–1504) had fought under the Habsburgs as well as under the Kings of Bohemia and Hungary. On 22 June 1476 he led the Bernese troops to victory at Murten against Charles the Bold, Duke of Burgundy, and went down in history as the Hero of Murten.

15th/16th century: Dietrich of Hallwyl

Dietrich
© Museum Aargau

Dietrich (1462–1509) established a farm and cultivated the land belonging to Hallwyl Castle himself. He had a fish pond created in the Schlatt and maintained a sound income from the sale of carp.

16th century: Hartmann III of Hallwyl

Hartmann
© Museum Aargau

Hartmann III (1503–1573) studied theology under Wolfgang Capito in Basel and later went to the universities of Mainz and Leipzig. He welcomed Luther's revolutionary ideas, gave up his plans to become a priest and took up service as an envoy and emissary for the City of Bern. In 1546/47 he was an emissary of Bern in the Schmalkaldic War.Hartmann III (1503–1573) studied theology under Wolfgang Capito in Basel and later went to the universities of Mainz and Leipzig. He welcomed Luther's revolutionary ideas, gave up his plans to become a priest and took up service as an envoy and emissary for the City of Bern. In 1546/47 he was an emissary of Bern in the Schmalkaldic War.

16th century: Burkhard III of Hallwyl

Burkhard
© Museum Aargau

Burkhard III (1533–1598) collected medical recipes, researched into his family's history and had several extensions and conversions carried out in Hallwyl Castle. He owned an experimental laboratory with distillation apparatus and supplies of medicines similar to that of an apothecary. In around 1580 he compiled more than 2,500 recipes in the 'Hallweil Book of Medicines' including the 'Genuine Hallwyl Magic Potion'.

16th/17th century: Johann Georg of Hallwyl

Johann Georg
© Museum Aargau

At the instigation of his father Dietrich, Johann Georg (1544–1604) obtained a sinecure at the cathedral chapter in Basel in 1579. His training and his later period of office as bishop were influenced by the Jesuits: he was said to be strictly devout, eager for reform and unselfish. In 1601 he was unanimously voted bishop of the largest bishopric in the German-speaking region by the cathedral chapter of Constance.

18th century: Bernhardine of Hallwyl

Bernhardine
© Museum Aargau

Bernhardine, née Diesbach (1728–1779), came from a wealthy Bern family and married the 55-year-old Johannes of Hallwyl when she was aged 16. After the latter's death, she suffered considerably due to the loss of her daughter, fear for her sick sons and her own infirmity.

18th/19th century: Franziska Romana of Hallwyl

Franziska Romana
© Museum Aargau

Franziska Romana, née Hallwyl (1758–1836), married her cousin Abraham Johannes and was Lady of the Castle as a widow for more than 50 years. Born into a period of upheaval, she witnessed the downfall of the Ancien Régime, the French Revolution and the foundation of the canton of Aargau. She followed all these developments with great interest.

18th/19th century: Karl Franz Rudolf of Hallwyl

Karl Franz Rudolf
© Museum Aargau

Karl Franz Rudolf (1777–1852) served under the Russian Tsar and became a captain in the artillery battalion of the Imperial Guard. After his return to Hallwyl Castle he was Lord of the Castle for 40 years, becoming a citizen and colonel of Aargau as well as being voted onto the Grand Council. The family lost many of its privileges in the aftermath of the Helvetic Revolution. Karl Franz Rudolf fought countless legal battles to defend his family's rights, causing him to amass considerable debt. In 1833 he was finally forced to sell the castle mill.

18th/19th century: Wilhelmina of Hallwyl

Wilhelmina
© Museum Aargau

The wife of Walter of Hallwyl (1839–1921) was the daughter of a Swedish industrialist. During the course of her life she assembled an extensive collection of paintings, porcelain, silver, weapons and utility objects. These can be viewed by the public today at Hallwyl Museum in Stockholm.

Wilhelmina of Hallwyl (1844–1930) invested most of her large inheritance in the restoration and documentation of Hallwyl Castle from 1910 to 1916. After her husband's death she established the Hallwil Foundation in 1925. This trustee organisation took on responsibility for the castle complex and opened it to the public.

Architectural history: the development stages to becoming a moated castle

Hallwyl Castle was constantly expanded from the time of its founding in the late 12th century. It underwent thorough restoration from 1997 to 2004.

The tower castle

In the late 12th century the lords of Hallwyl am Aabach established a small castle complex 700 metres from the run-off at the northern end of Lake Hallwil. It consisted of a residential tower surrounded on three sides by a dry moat. Large boulders were placed at the outside of the tower walls, as is commonly found in castle towers in the region dating back to the same era or slightly later.

There was also an inn serving the castle residents which was presumably older than the castle itself.

The keep

As the Hallwyl family gradually grew in importance and reputation, the space afforded by the tower castle became too limited. This was remedied in around 1265 with the construction of the keep, which was erected directly on the bank of the stream east of the residential tower. Two rooms on the ground floor were used to store supplies. The first and second floors consisted of residential rooms.

A bridge was built over the Aabach, possibly around the time the keep was constructed if not some time previously.

Familien- & Baugeschichte

Das aargauische Kleinadelsgeschlecht von Hallwyl hat sich in seiner über achthundertjährigen Geschichte vielfältig hervorgetan: auf den eidgenössischen Schlachtfeldern, an den europäischen Höfen, in der Wissenschaft, in der Politik, im Handel und in der Finanzwelt.

Bewohnergeschichte: Die Jahrhunderte der von Hallwyl

Erstmals urkundlich erwähnt wurde ein Mitglied der Familie von Hallwyl anno 1167: Waltherus de Allewilare bewegte sich im Umfeld der Freiherren von Eschenbach und im Gefolge der Grafen von Lenzburg.

Von den über 500 Familienmitgliedern wird hier nur ein Repräsentant pro Ausstellungsthema portraitiert. Im Audioführer Acoustiguide, der kostenlos an der Kasse des Schlossmuseums erhältlich ist, sind Portraits von 20 Familienmitgliedern abrufbar, die auch in der Ausstellung anzutreffen sind.

14. Jh: Johans I. von Hallwyl

Johans I.
© Kanton Aargau

Johans I. (1305–1348) war Marschall, Pfleger im Sundgau, später Landvogt in Schwaben und im Elsass. Er nahm wichtige Aufgaben für die habsburgische Landesherrschaft wahr und amtete als Erzieher Herzog Friedrichs. Seine Stellung nutzte er zum Ausbau der eigenen Macht im Aargau. Johans I. gilt als mächtigster und erfolgreichster Hallwyler. Er war es, der die Turmburg Hallwyl zur repräsentativen Schlossanlage ausbauen liess.

15. Jh: Hans von Hallwyl

Hans
© Kanton Aargau

Hans (1434–1504) hatte im Dienste der Habsburger sowie der Könige von Böhmen und Ungarn gekämpft. Am 22. Juni 1476 führte er die Berner Truppen bei Murten siegreich gegen die Burgunder unter Karl dem Kühnen und ging als Held von Murten in die Geschichte ein.

15./16. Jh: Dietrich von Hallwyl

Dietrich
© Kanton Aargau

Dietrich (1462–1509) gründete einen Hof und bewirtschaftete die zum Schloss Hallwyl gehörenden landwirtschaftlichen Nutzflächen selbst. Er liess die Fischweiher im Schlatt anlegen und hatte mit dem Verkauf von Karpfen ein gutes Einkommen.

16. Jh: Hartmann III. von Hallwyl

Hartmann III.
© Kanton Aargau

Hartmann III. (1503–1573) studierte Theologie bei Wolfgang Capito in Basel und ging später an die Universitäten von Mainz und Leipzig. Er begrüsste die revolutionären Ideen Luthers, verwarf die Pläne, Priester zu werden, und trat als Gesandter und Unterhändler in den Dienst der Stadt Bern. 1546/47 war er im Schmalkaldischen Krieg als Gesandter Berns unterwegs.

16. Jh: Burkhard III. von Hallwyl

Burkhard III.
© Kanton Aargau

Burkhard III. (1533–1598) sammelte medizinische Rezepte, befasste sich mit seiner Familiengeschichte und liess mehrere An- und Umbauten am Schloss vornehmen. Er besass ein Versuchslabor mit Destillationsapparaten und einen Arzneimittelvorrat, der einer Apotheke gleichkam. Gegen 1580 stellte er im 'Hallweilschen Arzneybuch' mehr als 2500 Rezepte zusammen, darunter den 'Echten Hallwylschen Wundtranck'.

16./17. Jh: Johann Georg von Hallwyl

Johann Georg
© Kanton Aargau

Auf Betreiben seines Vaters Dietrich hin bekam Johann Georg (1544–1604) 1579 eine Pfründe am Domstift in Basel. Seine Ausbildung sowie seine spätere Amtsführung als Bischof waren durch die Jesuiten geprägt: Strenge Gläubigkeit, Reformfreudigkeit und Selbstlosigkeit werden ihm attestiert. 1601 wählte ihn das Domkapitel Konstanz einstimmig zum Bischof des grössten Bistums im deutschsprachigen Raum.

18. Jh: Bernhardine von Hallwyl

Bernhardine
© Kanton Aargau

Bernhardine, geborene von Diesbach (1728–1779), stammte aus einer vornehmen Berner Familie und heiratete mit 16 den 55-jährigen Johannes von Hallwyl. Nach dessen Tod bestimmten ihr Leben die Trauer um eine verlorene Tochter, die Sorge um ihre kranken Söhne und die eigene Gebrechlichkeit.

18./19. Jh: Franziska Romana von Hallwyl

Franziska Romana
© Kanton Aargau

Franziska Romana, geborene von Hallwyl (1758–1836), heiratete ihren Cousin Abraham Johannes und war als Witwe über 50 Jahre lang Oberherrin auf dem Schloss. Hineingeboren in eine Zeit des Umbruchs, erlebte sie den Untergang des Ancien Régime, die Französische Revolution und die Entstehung des Kantons Aargau. All diese Veränderungen verfolgte sie interessiert mit.

18./19. Jh: Karl Franz Rudolf von Hallwyl

Karl Franz Rudolf
© Kanton Aargau

Karl Franz Rudolf (1777–1852) diente unter dem russischen Zaren und wurde Hauptmann im Artilleriebataillon dessen Leibgarde. Nach seiner Rückkehr auf Schloss Hallwyl war er über 40 Jahre lang Schlossherr, wurde Aargauer Bürger, aargauischer Oberst und liess sich in den Grossen Rat wählen. Infolge der Helvetischen Revolution hatte die Familie viele ihrer Vorrechte verloren. Karl Franz Rudolf führte unzählige Prozesse für die Rechte des Hauses und verschuldete sich dadurch. 1833 sah er sich gezwungen, die Schlossmühle zu verkaufen.

18./19. Jh: Wilhelmina von Hallwyl

Wilhelmina
© Kanton Aargau

Die Ehefrau von Walter von Hallwyl (1839–1921) war die Tochter eines schwedischen Industriellen. Im Lauf ihres Lebens trug sie eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Gemälden, Porzellan, Silber, Waffen und Gebrauchsgegenständen zusammen. Diese ist heute im Stockholmer Hallwyl-Museum (öffnet in einem neuen Fenster) der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

Einen Grossteil ihres umfangreichen Erbes investierte Wilhelmina von Hallwyl (1844–1930) in die Restauration und Dokumentation von Schloss Hallwyl 1910 bis 1916. Nach dem Tod ihres Gatten rief sie 1925 die Hallwil-Stiftung ins Leben. Sie bildete die Trägerschaft der Schlossanlage und machte diese der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

Baugeschichte: In Etappen zum Wasserschloss

Seit seiner Gründung im späten 12. Jahrhundert wurde Schloss Hallwyl im Lauf der Zeit beständig erweitert. Eine ganzheitliche Sanierung erlebte es zwischen 1997 und 2004.

Die Turmburg

Im späten 12. Jahrhundert gründeten die Herren von Hallwyl am Aabach, 700 Meter nach dem Abfluss am Nordende des Hallwilersees, eine kleine Burganlage. Sie bestand aus einem Wohnturm, der auf drei Seiten von einem Trockengraben umgeben war. Aussen waren die Turmmauern mit mächtigen Findlingen verkleidet, wie sie in der Gegend an zeitgleichen oder etwas jüngeren Burgtürmen oft anzutreffen sind.

Ein Wirtschaftshof diente der Selbstversorgung der Burgbewohner. Er war vermutlich älter als die Burg.

Der Palas

Der allmählich anwachsenden und an Bedeutung und Ansehen gewinnenden Familie von Hallwyl wurde die Turmburg zu eng. Abhilfe bot ein um 1265 östlich des Wohnturms direkt am Bachufer errichteter Palas. Zwei Räume im Erdgeschoss dienten der Vorratshaltung. Im ersten und zweiten Obergeschoss befanden sich Wohnräume.

Spätestens beim Bau des Palas, vermutlich aber schon bedeutend früher, wurde über den Aabach eine Brücke geschlagen.