Navigation

Anchors

Roman locations

The Roman legionary camp Vindonissa was established at Windisch 2,000 years ago. Some 6,000 legionaries served the Emperor in Rome based at the only legionary camp in Switzerland. Ten original sites allow visitors to view Vindonissa and experience the camp at first hand.

Roman Vindonissa
© Museum Aargau

The origins of the ancient site of Vindonissa date back to a Celtic settlement controlling the strategically important position at the confluence of the Aare, Reuss and Limmat rivers. During the Alpine campaign of Emperor Augustus in 15 BC, Roman soldiers established a military post here which was later developed into a legionary camp under Emperor Tiberius (14–37 AD).

The camp was some 20 hectares in size and was initially constructed by the 13th Legion out of wood and clay. The 21st Legion then gradually replaced and extended the existing buildings with stone structures. The last unit to occupy the site was the 11th Legion, which was withdrawn by Emperor Trajan into the Danube region in 101 AD. As time went on, a civil settlement became established outside the legionary camp and this continued to exist after the troops were withdrawn.

The legionaries of Vindonissa had a key role to play not only in the Roman conquest of the region on the right bank of the Rhine but also in establishing provincial structures in the southern Germania Superior. There was no place between the Alps and the Rhine where Rome's presence was more powerful. As many as 6,000 legionaries and officers also brought their Mediterranean lifestyle and civilisatory achievements with them, acting as a kind of "motor of Romanization".

Nach Oben

Römische Schauplätze

In Windisch wurde vor 2000 Jahren das römische Legionslager Vindonissa errichtet. Im einzigen Legionslager der Schweiz leisteten rund 6000 Legionäre ihren Einsatz für den Kaiser in Rom. An zehn originalen Schauplätzen kann Vindonissa erlebt und besichtigt werden.

Übersichtsplan des antiken Vindonissa
© Kanton Aargau

Das antike Vindonissa hat seinen Ursprung in einer keltischen Siedlung, welche die strategisch wichtige Stelle am Zusammenfluss von Aare, Reuss und Limmat kontrollierte. Während des Alpenfeldzugs von Kaiser Augustus im Jahr 15 v. Chr. errichteten römische Soldaten hier einen Militärposten, der später unter Kaiser Tiberius (14–37 n. Chr.) zu einem Legionslager ausgebaut wurde.

Das etwa 20 Hektaren grosse Lager wurde von der 13. Legion zunächst in Holz und Lehm erbaut. Die nachfolgende 21. Legion baute Vindonissa schrittweise in Stein um und aus. Als letzte Truppeneinheit ist die 11. Legion bezeugt, die im Jahr 101 n. Chr. von Kaiser Trajan in den Donauraum abgezogen wurde. Ausserhalb des Legionslagers entwickelte sich im Lauf der Zeit eine Zivilsiedlung, die nach Abzug der Truppen weiterbestand.

Die Legionäre Vindonissas spielten nicht nur bei der Eroberung des rechtsrheinischen Gebiets durch die Römer eine grosse Rolle, sondern auch beim Aufbau der provinzialen Strukturen in der südlichen Germania Superior. An keinem anderen Ort zwischen Alpen und Rhein war Rom machtpolitisch so präsent. Die bis zu 6000 Legionäre und Offiziere brachten auch die mediterrane Lebensweise und ihre zivilisatorischen Errungenschaften mit und fungierten als eine Art "Motor der Romanisierung".