Navigation

Anchors

The North Gate – Porta Decumana

Not only was the North Gate used as a look-out to oversee shipping traffic on the River Aare, the steep embankment in front of it also served as a rubbish tip. Today the latter is an absolute treasure trove for archaeologists.

The discovery of the North Gate (porta decumana) in 1905 was a major breakthrough for early Vindonissa research. Any remaining doubts were finally dispelled: Vindonissa really had been a legionary camp and not a civil settlement.

The gate is situated at the northern periphery of the Windisch plateau, directly above the slope running down to the River Aare.

From here there is an impressive view to the north where the Aare cuts through the Jura Mountains. The Romans had clearly identified the outstanding strategic position of the plateau at the confluence of the Aare, Reuss and Limmat rivers and near to the important Aare gorge to the north. This excellent geographical location at Switzerland's natural moated castle enabled fast and convenient transport of large quantities of goods and personnel for military purposes. The waterways integrated Vindonissa in the vast Roman network of long-distance trade. Good connecting routes for troop movements and furnishing supplies to the soldiers were a key instrument of power in the Roman Empire.

The embankment running down to the Aare was presumably too steep for carriages, which is why the North Gate served another function as well as being a sentinel: large amounts of rubbish were carted out of the camp through the gate and deposited on the northern slope, eventually creating an enormous mound. This mound is an immense asset to archaeological research since it contains thousands of preserved objects - particularly leather and wooden items including some 600 wooden writing tablets. These unique artefacts provide fascinating insights into the everyday lives of the Vindonissa legionaries and can now be viewed at the Vindonissa Museum in Brugg.

Nach Oben

Nordtor – Porta Decumana

Das Nordtor überwachte nicht nur den Schiffsverkehr auf der Aare, sondern die steile Böschung vor dem Tor diente auch als Abfallhalde. Diese ist für heutige Archäologen eine wahre Goldgrube.

Die Entdeckung des Nordtors (porta decumana) 1905 war bahnbrechend für die frühe Vindonissa-Forschung. Nun konnten die letzten Zweifel aus dem Weg geräumt werden: Vindonissa war tatsächlich ein Legionslager gewesen – und keine zivile Siedlung.

Das Tor liegt an der Nordkante des Windischer Plateaus, direkt über dem Abhang zur Aare. Von hier hat man einen beeindruckenden Ausblick nach Norden, auf den Einschnitt der Aare durch die Jurakette.

Die hervorragende strategische Lage des Plateaus am Zusammenfluss von Aare, Reuss und Limmat sowie nah am wichtigen Aaredurchbruch in Richtung Norden hatten bereits die Römer erkannt. Die ausgezeichnete verkehrsgeographische Lage am Wasserschloss der Schweiz ermöglichte das schnelle und günstige Transportieren von grossen Warenmengen und Menschen zu militärischen Zwecken. Die Wasserwege banden Vindonissa in das grosse römische Fernhandelsnetz ein. Gute Verbindungswege für die Truppenbewegungen und die Versorgung der Soldaten waren im römischen Imperium ein zentrales Machtinstrument.

Die zur Aare abfallende Böschung war für Fuhrwerke vermutlich zu steil, weshalb das Nordtor nebst seiner Funktion als Wachposten noch einen anderen Zweck erfüllte: Durch das Tor wurden grosse Mengen an Abfall aus dem Lager gekarrt und am Nordhang abgelagert, bis ein gewaltiger Schutthügel entstand. Für die archäologische Forschung ist dieser Schutthügel von unschätzbarem Wert, da sich darin Tausende von Objekten, insbesondere aus Leder und Holz, erhalten haben – darunter die Fragmente von rund 600 hölzernen Schreibtäfelchen. Diese einmaligen Zeitzeugen des täglichen Lebens der Legionäre in Vindonissa sind heute im Vindonissa-Museum in Brugg zu sehen.

Das Tor ist frei zugänglich.

Angebote und Informationen

Angebote zum Thema

  • Für Familien und Kinder:
    • Spiel-Tour "Werdet Römer"
  • Für Gruppen:
    • Themen-Tour "Forschungsreise"
    • Themen-Tour / Führung "Der Medicus – Heilkunst in Vindonissa"

Wissenswertes

Vindonissa-Museum