Navigation

Anchors

The main road and gate – Via et Porta Praetoria

The South Gate or Porta Praetoria was the most prestigious in every legionary camp. From here the main road led directly to legion command.

The most important gateway in a military camp was the Porta Praetoria. The main road starting at the gate (via praetoria) lead in a straight line to the legion's headquarters (principia), the administrative and religious centre of the camp. The legion commander's palace (praetorium) was situated on the same road. When the soldiers were required to go to war, they left the camp in orderly formation through the Porta Praetoria.

At Vindonissa, the Porta Praetoria was some 13 to 15 metres high and was built in stone by the 11th legion. It had two side towers that were rectangular in layout, like the North Gate, and it comprised a wooden superstructure. The passage through the gateway was spanned by a bridge at the height of the battlements so as to be able to deploy guards. The camp wall (vallum) encompassing the entire legionary camp was joined directly onto the side of the gateway. The camp wall was 12 Roman feet (approx. 3.6 metres) wide and reinforced at regular intervals with fortified towers. In front of it was a V-shaped ditch (fossa) as an obstacle to approaching enemies.

The Via Praetoria led straight from the South Gate to the North Gate of the camp and comprised a thick, compact gravel layer which remains excellently preserved after 2,000 years. Rain water was collected from the roofs and drained by means of stone gulleys by the roadside. Legionary Trail visitors can still see the stone column bases of the pergolas which once ran along the Roman road.

Nach Oben

Navigation

Sprunglinks

Hauptstrasse und Südtor – Via et Porta Praetoria

Das Südtor oder die Porta Praetoria war in jedem Legionärslager das repräsentativste Tor. Von ihm aus führte die Hauptstrasse direkt zum Legionskommando.

Das wichtigste Tor eines Militärlagers war die Porta Praetoria. Die beim Tor beginnende Hauptstrasse (via praetoria) führte geradeaus zum Stabsgebäude der Legion (principia), dem verwaltungsmässigen und religiösen Zentrum des Lagers. An derselben Strasse lag auch der Palast (praetorium) des Legionskommandanten. Mussten die Soldaten in den Krieg ziehen, verliessen sie das Lager in geordneter Formation durch die Porta Praetoria.

Die Porta Praetoria in Vindonissa war rund 13 bis 15 Meter hoch und wurde von der 11. Legion in Stein errichtet. Die beiden seitlichen Tortürme hatten wie das Nordtor einen rechteckigen Grundriss und trugen einen hölzernen Aufbau. Die Tordurchfahrt war in der Höhe des Wehrgangs überbrückt, um dort Wachen aufstellen zu können. Seitlich an das Tor schloss die Lagermauer (vallum) an, die das gesamte Legionslager umfasste. Die Lagermauer war genau 12 römische Fuss (ca. 3,6 Meter) breit und in regelmässigen Abständen mit Wehrtürmen verstärkt. Vor ihr lag ein V-förmiger Spitzgraben (fossa) als Annäherungshindernis.

Die Via Praetoria führte vom Südtor geradewegs zum Nordtor des Lagers und bestand aus einem dicken, kompakten Kieskoffer, der sich über 2000 Jahre hinweg hervorragend erhalten hat. In den gemauerten Traufwasserkanälen entlang der Strasse wurde das Regenwasser, das von den Dächern der Häuser hinunterfloss, gesammelt und abgeleitet. Noch heute können die Besucher des Legionärspfads die behauenen, steinernen Säulenbasen der Laubengänge entlang der römischen Strasse sehen.

Hauptstrasse und Südtor sind frei zugänglich.

Angebote und Informationen

Angebote zum Thema

  • Für Erwachsene:
    • Themen-Tour / Führung "Der Legionär – im Kampf und Dienst für Rom"
    • Aktivprogramm "Ausbildung zum Legionär"

Wissenswertes

Nach Oben