Navigation

Anchors

The bathhouse – Balneum

Public baths were among the basic facilities in any Roman settlement. In Vindonissa there even used to be a legionary bathhouse inside the camp, though this no longer exists. The bathhouse belonging to the civil settlement can still be accessed today.

The bathhouse is part of a larger-scale complex outside the legionary camp. It was a public facility which could be used by residents and travellers on payment of a fee. The bathhouse is divided into cold, warm and hot bathing rooms. The Romans used an ingenious system to heat the floors and walls which was called the hypocaust. Remains of the system are clearly visible as are the baths themselves, which were filled with warm water and emptied via stone drains.

The well-preserved colour wall paintings are a particularly attractive feature, dating back around 2,000 years. Today the bathhouse can be explored in hands-on fashion by visitors to the Legionary Trail and has been enhanced with lighting, fragrances and an exclusive "thermal finger bath".

A visit to the baths was part of the Romans' everyday routine. They would meet, chat and relax as well as taking care of their personal hygiene. There were also sporting activities and massages with aromatic oils. In order to guarantee smooth operation of the baths to ensure basic hygiene, a functioning system of fresh water supply and effluent drainage was required, as well as sufficient fuel to heat the rooms and the baths themselves.

Bathing guests were looking for a pleasurable experience, so Roman baths were often decorated with elaborate paintings, sculptures and monumental basins. The large bathhouse inside the legionary camp (thermae legionis) was much more lavishly equipped than the small bathhouse outside (balneum). Nothing remains of the larger facility today, but parts of its luxurious fittings can be viewed at the Vindonissa Museum.

Nach Oben

Navigation

Sprunglinks

Bad – Balneum

Öffentliche Bäder gehörten zur Grundausstattung einer römischen Siedlung. In Vindonissa gab es früher sogar ein eigenes Legionärsbad innerhalb des Lagers, welches jedoch nicht mehr existiert. Das Bad der zivilen Siedlung ist heute noch begehbar.

Das Bad gehörte zu einem grösseren Baukomplex ausserhalb des Legionslagers. Es war ein öffentliches Bad, das Quartierbewohner und Reisende gegen Bezahlung benutzen konnten. Das Bad ist unterteilt in Kalt-, Lauwarm- und Heissbaderäume. Um die Böden und Wände zu heizen, nutzten die Römer ein ausgeklügeltes Heizsystem, den Hypokaust. Reste davon sind gut zu sehen, ebenso von den Wasserbecken, die mit temperiertem Wasser gefüllt und durch gemauerte Kanäle entleert wurden.

Besonders schön sind die rund 2000-jährigen, gut erhaltenen farbigen Wandmalereien. Heute ist das Bad für die Besucher des Legionärspfads mit Licht, Düften und einer exklusiven "Fingertherme" erlebbar.

Für die Römer gehörte der Besuch im Bad zum normalen Tagesablauf. Man traf sich, unterhielt und erholte sich und pflegte seinen Körper. Dazu gehörten auch sportliche Aktivitäten und Massagen mit wohlriechenden Ölen. Um den Betrieb des Bades und somit die hygienische Grundversorgung zu gewährleisten, benötigte man ein funktionierendes Frisch- und Abwassersystem sowie genügend Brennstoffe für das Beheizen der Räume und Wasserbecken.

Damit sich die Badegäste wohlfühlten, waren römische Bäder oft aufwendig mit Malereien, Skulpturen und monumentalen Waschbecken ausgeschmückt. Viel reicher ausgestattet als das kleine Bad (balneum) ausserhalb, war das grosse Lagerbad der Legionäre im Innern des Legionslagers (thermae legionis). Heute ist im Gelände nichts mehr davon zu sehen, aber im Vindonissa-Museum sind Teile der luxuriösen Ausstattung ausgestellt.

Angebote und Informationen

Angebote zum Thema

  • Für Familien und Kinder:
    • Spiel-Tour "Werdet Römer"
  • Für Erwachsene:
    • Themen-Tour / Führung "Luxus und Genuss – Wellness im Machtzentrum Roms"
    • Themen-Tour "Forschungsreise"

Wissenswertes

Nach Oben