Navigation

Anchors

Amphitheatre – Amphitheatrum

Like the aqueduct and bathhouse, an amphitheatre was an integral element of all larger-scale settlements in ancient Rome. In view of the tough day-to-day life of a legionary, entertainment was especially important: the amphitheatre of Vindonissa is the oldest and largest in Switzerland.

The amphitheatre of Vindonissa is the oldest in Switzerland. It was erected by the 13th legion, initially being made of wood. After a fire, the 21st legion replaced it with the stone structure that survives today. The seating area (cavea) had a capacity of some 11,000 spectators while the oval arena in the centre measured 64x52 metres - the largest of the seven known amphitheatres on Swiss territory.

The amphitheatre was a Roman invention that was widespread in the provinces and is regarded as the ultimate symbol of Roman culture.

Animal hunting and slaying (venationes) and gladiator duels (munera) were presented to the audience in the arena. The gladiators in particular were highly popular, with real fan communities forming among spectators. Due to their huge popularity among the people, the games were also of political interest to the organisers: popular support could be gained by investing in the games, so no expense was spared when it came to the gladiator pairings. Exotic animals were a particular highlight, too: a possible indication here is the foot bone of a camel that was found at Vindonissa.

Since the legionaries liked to be entertained during their free time, too, amphitheatres were virtually a standard feature of legionary camps. Like the troops' parade ground (campus), an amphitheatre would have been situated outside the camp. The first excavations in the amphitheatre at Vindonissa were carried out as long ago as 1897. The structure has been in the possession of the Swiss Confederation since 1898. If you stand in the arena and looked up at the spectator terraces, you can almost sense the excitement and noise even today.

Nach Oben

Navigation

Sprunglinks

Amphitheater – Amphitheatrum

Wie die Wasserleitungen und Bäder gehörte auch ein Amphitheater zu der Ausstattung jeder grösseren Siedlung im alten Rom. Im harten Legionärsalltag war Unterhaltung besonders wichtig, und so ist das Amphitheater von Vindonissa das älteste und grösste der Schweiz.

Das Amphitheater von Vindonissa ist das älteste Amphitheater der Schweiz. Es wurde durch die 13. Legion zuerst in Holz errichtet. Nach einem Brand ersetzte es die 21. Legion durch den heute erhaltenen Steinbau. Der Sitzplatzbereich (cavea) fasste rund 11'000 Zuschauer, und sein ovaler Schauplatz im Zentrum (arena) war mit 64x52 Metern der grösste unter den sieben bekannten Amphitheatern auf Schweizer Boden.

Als römische Erfindung ist das Amphitheater auch in den Provinzen weit verbreitet und gilt als Kennzeichen römischer Kultur schlechthin.

In der Arena wurden dem Publikum Tierhetzen (venationes) und Gladiatorenkämpfe (munera) gezeigt. Besonders die Gladiatoren waren äusserst beliebt, und unter den Zuschauern bildeten sich richtige Fangemeinschaften. Für die Veranstalter waren die Spiele wegen ihrer grossen Beliebtheit im Volk auch von politischem Interesse: Wer sich die Spiele etwas kosten liess und bei den Gladiatorenpaarungen keinen Aufwand scheute, konnte mit dem Wohlwollen der Zuschauer rechnen. Gern wurden dem Publikum auch exotische Tiere vorgeführt: In Vindonissa könnte der Fund eines Kamel-Fussknochens in diese Richtung weisen.

Da sich auch die Legionäre in ihrer Freizeit gern unterhalten liessen, gehörte das Amphitheater fast als Standard zu einem Legionslager. Es lag jeweils ausserhalb des Lagers, genauso wie der Exerzierplatz der Truppen (campus). Die ersten Ausgrabungen im Amphitheater fanden bereits 1897 statt. Seit 1898 ist das Bauwerk im Besitz der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft. Noch heute glaubt man, die Anspannung und den Lärm zu spüren, wenn man im Innern der Arena steht und in die Zuschauerränge blickt.

Das Amphitheater ist frei zugänglich.

Angebote und Informationen

Angebote zum Thema

  • Für Familien und Kinder:
    • Spiel-Tour "Ave Gladiator – Findet das Geheimnis des Kamels"
  • Für Erwachsene:
    • Führung "Geniale Römer – Bahnbrechende Innovationen und technische Meisterleistungen"
Nach Oben