Navigation

Anchors

Main sewage drain – Cloaca Maxima

Not only Roman towns were fitted with modern-style sewage systems but also the permanent legionary camps. Part of the ancient system of drains is still accessible today at Vindonissa.

The main sewage drain ran along the western front of the legionary camp, immediately adjacent to the camp wall. It lay under the road parallel to the camp wall (via sagularis) and formed part of an extensive subterranean sewage system. The system as a whole is estimated to have been more than five kilometres long, running through the entire camp.

Built out of stone, the drains were used for the latrines, thermal baths and well overflows, also ensuring fast drainage of water from the roofs and roads when it rained. The large sewage drain collected the effluent from the smaller side drains, allowing it to flow directly out of the camp to the River Aare in the north.

A functional drainage system was required so as to prevent the spread of disease and epidemics in the legionary camp. Together with the troop toilets, thermal baths and camp infirmary, the drainage system was one of the most important hygienic facilities in keeping the approx. 6,000 legionaries healthy and therefore fit for action.

The sewage drain was discovered as long ago as 1899. It was investigated once again in 1907 and the excavator at the time named it the "Cloaca Maxima of Vindonissa" - in reference to the monumental drainage system in Rome itself. In order to make the sewage drain accessible to the public in the early 20th century, a section measuring at least 20 metres in length was preserved. After this the "Cloaca Maxima" was neglected. It was not until some 100 years later that it was possible to open up the drain to Legionary Path visitors: measuring two metres in height and one metre in width, it can be conveniently accessed.

Nach Oben

Navigation

Sprunglinks

Abwasserleitung – Cloaca Maxima

Nicht nur die römischen Städte, sondern auch die festen Legionslager verfügten über modern anmutende Abwassersysteme. Ein Teil dieser antiken Kanalisation ist in Vindonissa heute noch begehbar.

Der grosse Abwasserkanal verlief entlang der Westfront des Legionslagers, unmittelbar neben der Lagermauer. Er lag unter der Strasse parallel zur Lagermauer (via sagularis) und gehörte zu einem langen, unterirdischen Abwassersystem. Dieses war schätzungsweise über fünf Kilometer lang und durchzog das gesamte Legionslager.

Die aus Stein gebauten Kanäle entwässerten die Latrinen, Thermen und Brunnenüberläufe und sorgten bei Regenfällen für einen schnellen Abfluss des Dach- und Strassenwassers. Der grosse Abwasserkanal sammelte das Schmutzwasser aus den kleineren Seitenkanälen und liess es direkt aus dem Lager gegen Norden zur Aare hin abfliessen.

Ein funktionstüchtiges Kanalisationssystem war nötig, um eine mögliche Ausbreitung von Krankheiten und Seuchen im Legionslager zu verhindern. Zusammen mit den Mannschaftstoiletten, den Lagerthermen und dem Lagerspital gehörte das Abwassersystem zu den wichtigsten hygienischen Einrichtungen, um die rund 6000 Legionäre gesund und somit einsatzbereit zu halten.

Den Abwasserkanal entdeckte man bereits 1899. Im Jahr 1907 wurde der Kanal erneut untersucht, und der damalige Ausgräber nannte ihn – in Anlehnung an die monumentale Abwasserleitung in Rom – die "Cloaca Maxima von Vindonissa". Um den Abwasserkanal für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen, konservierte man damals ein gut 20 Meter langes Teilstück. Danach geriet die "Cloaca Maxima" in Vergessenheit. Erst nach rund 100 Jahren wurde der Kanal für die Besucher des Legionärspfads wieder zugänglich gemacht: Mit zwei Metern Höhe und einem Meter Breite ist er bequem begehbar.

Die Abwasserleitung ist frei zugänglich.

Angebote und Informationen

Angebote zum Thema

  • Für Familien und Kinder:
    • Spiel-Tour "Werdet Römer"
  • Für Erwachsene:
    • Themen-Tour / Führung "Der Medicus – Heilkunst in Vindonissa und im Mittelalter"
    • Themen-Tour "Forschungsreise"
  • Für Schulen:
    • Workshop "Elva et Appius – Helvetier und Römer"
Nach Oben