Navigation

Anchors

Archaeological research

The soil around Vindonissa has been excavated and researched for more than 100 years in pursuit of archaeological evidence of the legionary camp and its civil settlement. Archaeologists repeatedly come across spectacular findings that provide fresh insights into what life was like 2,000 years ago.

The depots and archives now contain hundreds of thousands of items and archaeological information that sheds light on the world of the Romans in Vindonissa. Some of this treasure trove is now on show at the Vindonissa Museum in Brugg. In Windisch it is possible to view the structural remains dating back to the time of the legionary camp in the form of stations along the Legionary Trail.

The terrain in Windisch and Brugg continues to yield spectacular archaeological discoveries to this day. The most recent examples are the site of the eastern camp gate discovered by archaeologists of the canton of Aargau in 2014 and the previously unknown burial ground in Brugg-Remigersteig, which was unearthed in 2012. The burial ground at the foot of Bruggerberg was situated on the main road to Augusta Raurica. In addition to more than 140 graves, the excavations also brought to light an excellently preserved burial monument and the gravestone to go with it. The latter tells us that the grave belonged to Maxsimila from Bologna, who died at the age of 40, and her 10-year-old slave Heuprosinis.

Current excavations

Canton archaeologists are involved in a number of research projects relating to the Vindonissa excavation site.

The Vindonissa Professorship for Roman Provincial Archaeology at the University of Basel Department of Classical Studies also makes an important contribution to research into the Roman site. A key focus here is collaboration with neighbouring scientific disciplines such as archaeobotany and archaeozoology.

For more information on current excavations in Vindonissa and elsewhere in Canton Argovia see www.ag.ch/archaeologie (in german).

Nach Oben

Archäologische Forschung

Im Boden rund um Vindonissa wird seit über 100 Jahren nach Zeugnissen des Legionslagers und seiner Zivilsiedlung gegraben und geforscht. Immer wieder stossen die Archäologen auf spektakuläre Funde, die neue Erkenntnisse über das Leben vor 2000 Jahren liefern.

In den Depots und Archiven lagern mittlerweile Hunderttausende von Funden und archäologische Informationen, die uns die Welt der Römer in Vindonissa erschliessen. Ein Teil dieses Schatzes ist im Vindonissa-Museum in Brugg zu sehen. In Windisch sind die imposanten baulichen Zeugnisse aus der Zeit des Legionslagers als Stationen des Legionärspfads zu besichtigen.

Auch heute noch gibt der archäologische Untergrund von Windisch und Brugg immer wieder spektakuläre Funde preis. Jüngste Beispiele sind die von der Kantonsarchäologie Aargau 2014 entdeckte Lage des östlichen Lagertors oder das 2012 freigelegte, bis dahin unbekannte römische Gräberfeld in Brugg-Remigersteig. Das Gräberfeld am Fusse des Bruggerbergs lag an der Fernstrasse nach Augusta Raurica. Die Ausgrabungen brachten nebst über 140 Gräbern ein hervorragend erhaltenes Grabmonument mit dazugehörendem Grabstein ans Tageslicht. Demnach gehörte das Grab der mit 40 Jahren verstorbenen Maxsimila aus Bologna und Heuprosinis, ihrer 10-jährigen Sklavin.

Stand der Forschung

Die Kantonsarchäologie Aargau führt verschiedene Forschungsprojekte zum Fundplatz Vindonissa durch. Die Grabungsaktivitäten in Vindonissa sind in den Jahresberichten der Gesellschaft Pro Vindonissa publiziert, die – bis auf die neusten Exemplare – auch online abrufbar sind. Eine gute Übersicht zum Forschungsstand von Vindonissa bieten zwei in dieser Reihe publizierte Artikel:

J. Trumm, Vindonissa - Stand der Erforschung I. Vorgeschichte, keltische Zeit und militärischer Komplex, Jber. GPV 2010, 37-54; J. Trumm, Vindonissa – Stand der Erforschung II. Der zivile Komplex, Jber GPV 2011, 3-22:

Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erforschung des römischen Vindonissa leistet auch die Vindonissa-Professur für provinzialrömische Archäologie am Departement Altertumswissenschaften der Universität Basel. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Zusammenarbeit mit den naturwissenschaftlichen Nachbardisziplinen wie der Archäobotanik oder der Archäozoologie.